Notes To My Beans

The day to day tales of my life with the beans

Tis The Season To Be Charging

Leave a comment

Every year I promise not to go overboard with the Christmas gifts and every year I fail miserably. And of course the person I buy the most for is myself. Merry Christmas to me! I tried to keep the spending down on myself but every store I go into I fine an item or two that I think would look cute on me. There’s no thought regarding where or when I would wear most of these clothes, but just the urge that I have to have it. I am a retailer’s dream.

Even with papBeaner’s gift, I find myself going overboard. It started with one large gift. And then there were accessories for the gift. And then stocking stuffers. And then he needs one thing. And wouldn’t it be great if he had this thing. Oh, and this would be perfect for him! I’m hoping that I stop getting good ideas of gifts to give him, or at least save them for his birthday (which is only 3 months away).

Then there’s my parents. I don’t even try to be budget-conscience with my parents — they don’t charge me for daycare so I’m more than justified getting them a big gift.

I was able to stay in budget with everyone else. And there are a lot of other people on my gift list. First and foremost is the bean, but I buy him “presents” all year round so in actuality I’m way over budget with him. I haven’t even begun to think of a present for my sister and her husband. And then there are my nieces, my cousin’s and their kids (we have a large extended family). I always stay within my allotted budget for these guys although that number gets pretty high.

But I don’t complain about the money spent. I love shopping. I love buying gifts. I love wrapping gifts. In short, I love this season!

Leave a comment